New junior transport ministers confirmed in government reshuffle

Two new junior ministers have been confirmed at the Department for Transport as part of Rishi Sunak’s government reshuffle.

Roads and local transport parliamentary under secretary Richard Holden has been moved to become minister without portfolio, chair of the Conservative Party, under the changes unveiled by the prime minister on Monday.

New to the DfT are former Department for Work and Pensions minister Guy Opperman, MP for Hexham, and South Cambridgeshire MP Anthony Browne.

Their responsibilities at the transport department have yet to be outlined.

Mark Harper remains as transport secretary. 

Former tourism minister and Google head of travel Nigel Huddleston, who took on a ministerial role at the Department for Business and Trade in the last reshuffle in February, has been elevated to financial secretary to the Treasury.  

Share article

View Comments

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.