AWTE names Travelport’s Claire Osborne as new chair

Caption: Front – Michelle Laverick, Aphrodite Burton, Claire Osborne

Back – Jane Pinfold, Lindsay Garvey-Jones, Wendy Missenden, Lisa Henning, Penny Worthy, Julie Cooper.

Claire Osborne from Travelport was elected as new chair of the Association of Women Travel Executives last night.

She takes over from Sarah Clayton Turner, of Travel Trade Marketing, whose term was up after two years.

Michelle Laverick, of HF Holidays, was appointed vice-chair while continuing as PR director.

Wendy Missenden, UK marketing manager for Collette, was appointed web and communications director at the AWTE annual meeting in London.

Other appointments include Penny Worthy, from Avis Budget UK, as secretary and Julie Cooper, of the GTMC, as membership director.

Lisa Henning continues as project and partnerships director, Jane Pinfold as events director, while Lindsay Garvey-Jones will continue to drive website and communications with Missenden.

Osborne said: “I’m delighted to have been elected as Chair for such an amazing organisation.

“Sarah has been a fantastic chair over the last couple of years and leaves the AWTE in a very strong position both financially and members wise, which we will continue to build upon.

“Once again, we have a strong board and I’m looking forward to leading this team, continuing to support women in the travel industry.

“Being a member of the AWTE remains great value, and it is thanks to our members and trade partners that we can continue to organise great events and training opportunities for all.”

She added: “I would also like to thank my employer, Travelport, who continue to support my personal development with enabling me to be part of this fantastic team.”

New AWTE board of directors:

Chair and finance directorClaire Osborne
Vice chair and PR directorMichelle Laverick
SecretaryPenny Worthy
Membership directorJulie Cooper
Events directorJane Pinfold
Website and communications directorsLindsay Garvey-Jones and Wendy Missenden
Project and partnerships directorLisa Henning
BenevolentAphrodite Burton


MoreAWTE withdraws support from ITT Conference

Shortlist for AWTE Awards revealed

Travel Weekly Group’s Hollie-Rae Brader wins top honour at AWTE Awards

Share article

View Comments

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.