Former transport secretary Sir Patrick McLoughlin has been named as new chairman of the British Tourist Authority.

He succeeds former Virgin Atlantic boss Steve Ridgway who took up the post in 2017.

McLoughlin, MP for Derbyshire Dales from 1986 to 2019, will take up the position on June 1. He also chaired the Conservative Party for two years.

The BTA post runs for three years until May 31, 2023.

Meanwhile, former Enfield North MP Nick de Bois is to chair the VisitEngland advisory board.

De Bois was a former chief of staff at the government’s Brexit department and special advisor to foreign secretary Dominic Raab.

The appointments were made by culture secretary Oliver Dowden.