Foreign Office eases travel advice for 51 countries

The Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office has lifted its advice against all but essential travel for a further 51 countries and territories.

The announcement comes just two days after the government department did the same for 32 countries and territories – and one day after transport secretary Grant Shapps announced the red list will be cut from 54 to seven from Monday (October 11).

The Foreign Office is lifting its advisory against all but essential travel to Bahamas, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Jamaica, Martinique, Palau, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Western Sahara on Friday (October 8).

From Monday, the advisory will lift for: Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cape Verde, Chile, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Cuba, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Georgia, Guyana, Indonesia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Mozambique, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nepal, Paraguay, Philippines, Reunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Suriname, Tanzania, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, Uruguay, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

MoreTrade hails reduced red list but demands day-2 test date

Foreign secretary Liz Truss said: “These updates make travel abroad easier – boosting trade, tourism and reuniting friends and families.

“I am delighted that the safe reopening of travel allows people to exercise personal responsibility and visit more destinations across the globe.”

The FCDO no longer advises against travel to non-red list countries on Covid-19 grounds, except in exceptional circumstances such as if the local healthcare system is overwhelmed.

Travellers will be able to purchase travel insurance for a wider range of destination as a result of these updates.

Share article

View Comments

Jacobs Media Group is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.