Sri Lanka and Israel among travel corridor additions

Sri Lanka and Israel are among the nine destinations to be added to the UK’s travel corridor list this week.

In his weekly update via Twitter, transport secretary Grant Shapps said the countries would be added to the list from 4am Saturday November 21, alongside Namibia, Rwanda, Uruguay, Bonaire, St Eustatius & Saba, the Northern Mariana Islands and the US Virgin Islands.

More:Trade associations welcome long-haul additions to travel corridors list

It means arrivals into the UK from these destinations no longer have to quarantine for 14 days.

Namibia and Rwanda become the first African countries added to the UK’s travel corridor list.

No countries have been removed from the list this week, confirmed Shapps – who reiterated an over-arching ban on international travel as part of the England-wide lockdown remains.

Only exemptions allowing travel for some work and education reasons are permitted while the lockdown, currently due to end on December 2, is in place.


Share article

View Comments

Jacobs Media is honoured to be the recipient of the 2020 Queen's Award for Enterprise.

The highest official awards for UK businesses since being established by royal warrant in 1965. Read more.