Four non-executive directors have been appointed to the board of Cardiff airport after it was bought out by the Welsh government for £52 million.

Philip Ashman, Geraint Davies, Margaret Llewellyn and Andrew Sargent will work with chairman Lord Rowe-Beddoe plus chief executive Jon Horne and other airport directors.

The appointments come ahead of an expected confirmation of a £500,000 facelift for the airport today to make it more attractive to inbound visitors.

Ashman has more than 25 years experience in engineering management, and is vice president of Jacobs and executive director major projects group for the Atomic Weapons Establishment.

Davies the senior partner for accountancy firm Grant Thornton in Wales.

Llewellyn is a director of Finance Wales, board member of Shadow Board Ports of Jersey and a member of the Wales Tourism Panel.

Sargent has direct experience of implementing change and transformation programmes including two unnamed UK regional airports.

Lord Rowe-Beddoe said: “The knowledge, experience and skill set of the non-executive directors will be vital in the task of turning around the fortunes of Wales’s national airport.”