Expansion of a scheme allowing fast entry into the UK for regular travellers has been welcomed by UKinbound.

Frequent travellers from 16 new countries will be able to apply for membership of the UK Registered Traveller Service, which allows faster entry into Britain.

It is now open to regular travellers from Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Brunei, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay and Uruguay.

UKinbound chief executive Deirdre Wells said: “UKinbound is delighted to welcome the extension of the Registered Traveller scheme to 16 new countries, including important inbound markets in South America and the Far East.

“Tourism from these markets has grown exponentially in recent years and this announcement will send a clear signal that the UK is open for business and continues to be an outward-facing and welcoming destination in a post-Brexit world.”