Two new Abta board members have been appointed from the big two, Tui Group and Thomas Cook.

Kathryn Darbandi, director of retail and customer experience at Thomas Cook and Andrew Flintham, commercial director at Tui UK and Ireland.

A third appointment confirmed after today’s Abta board meeting is Mandie Campbell, director general immigration enforcement at the Home Office.

Then new appointments, who officially start on July 1, replace Christine Farnish, who has served the maximum number of terms, Fraser Ellacott, who is leaving TUI, and Lord Fowler, who steps down following his appointment as Speaker of the House of Lords.

ABTA Chairman, Noel Josephides said: “We would like to thank our three outgoing Directors, Lord Fowler, Christine Farnish and Fraser Ellacott for their exemplary work as Board Directors over the past years, helping to steer Abta and the industry through a period of great change.

“At the same time, I would like to welcome our new Directors, who bring with them a great breadth of operating experience that will be extremely relevant to the challenges that lie ahead.’

The full Board of Directors now comprises:

Noel Josephides, Sunvil
Roger Allard, All Leisure Group
Daniele Broccoli, Britaly Travel
Mandie Campbell
Katrina Cliffe
Kathryn Darbandi, Thomas Cook Group
Richard Downs,
Andrew Flintham, TUI Group
Doreen Mckenzie, Knock Travel
Martin Randall, Martin Randall Travel
Alistair Rowland, Mid-Counties Co-operative
Andrew Swaffield, Monarch Group
Mark Tanzer

ABTA Members also voted to pass the following resolutions at the AGM:

The first resolution confirmed that Messrs Moore Stephens have been reappointed as Abta’s auditors.

The second resolution introduces a second paragraph to Article 10(7) relating to the provision by members of information necessary for Abta’s due diligence processes.

The intention of this resolution is to allow Abta to carry out appropriate financial due diligence processes among members.