The World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) has challenged travel businesses to “show how sustainable they are” by entering the 2017 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards.

The WTTC launched the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2017 today and is seeking entries in five categories – Community, Destination, Environment, Innovation and People.

The awards are judged by an international panel of experts in a process that includes the on-site assessment of finalists.

The judges are led by Professor Graham Miller, head of the school of hospitality and tourism management and chair of sustainability in business at the University of Surrey.

The awards are chaired by Fiona Jeffery, former chair of World Travel Market and founder and chair of water aid charity Just a Drop.

Jeffery said: “I’m delighted to be chairing again. The awards celebrate the achievements of ethical tourism businesses around the world and I hope to see many inspirational businesses apply.”

WTTC president and chief executive David Scowsill said: “Companies and organisations that enter can show governments and tourism organisations how successful business models go hand in hand with safeguarding local communities, the environment and cultural heritage.”

Three finalists in each category will be announced in January, with the winners announced during the WTTC Global Summit in Bangkok on April 26-27 next year.

Winners of the 2016 awards were drawn from the Netherlands, Mexico, Botswana and the UK.

All finalists will receive complimentary flights to, and accommodation at, the WTTC Global Summit 2017.

The closing date for the awards is November 14, 2016.

Get more details and submit an application