Four more countries have been added to the England’s travel ‘red list’, effective from next Friday.

British and Irish residents arriving from the Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh will be required to self-isolate in a government-approved ‘hotel quarantine’ facility for 10 days from 4am on April 9

A travel ban will be put in place on non-British or Irish citizens arriving in England from the four countries.

The Department for Transport said the move follows new data showing an increased risk of importation of ‘variants of concern’.

There will be 40 countries on the ‘red list’ once the four countries join on April 9.

On Monday (April 5), prime minister Boris Johnson is expected to give “a bit” more detail on how international travel will resume. The earliest possible restart date is May 17.

The Global Travel Taskforce is due to report on April 12.

It is expected that the government will introduce a ‘traffic light’ system to determine restrictions on individual countries and regions.

More:Analysis suggests 12 countries could be added to ‘green list’ from May 17

PM says ‘vaccine passports’ will ‘definitely’ play a role in international travel