Travelodge has listed 26 coastal resorts where it hopes to expand its domestic portfolio.

The expansion would represent a potential investment of £165 million for third party investors and create around 650 new jobs.

It comes as the budget chain marks 20 years of trading at UK seaside resorts this summer.

The group’s first coastal hotel opened in Brighton in 1999 while its and 36th seaside property has started trading in Rhyl seafront.

The development plan stretches from Lerwick, capital of the Shetlands, to Jersey and Guernsey.

Travelodge UK development director Tony O’Brien said: “We are seeing the rebirth of British seaside resorts and coastal towns as a result of Britons changing holiday habits.

“We are becoming a strong staycation nation that likes to take lots of short breaks throughout the year rather than a traditional two week block holiday.

“To support this growing trend, we are looking to enter new markets and extend our network of coastal location hotels so that we can offer more choice and greater value to the modern leisure traveller.”

He added: “There are significant regeneration and modernisation projects taking place in seaside towns and cities across the UK, and we have identified 26 coastal areas that could benefit from a Travelodge hotel.

“We will kick start our expansion programme by writing to the local authority in each region to see if we can play a pivotal role in their regeneration programme like we have done in Rhyl.

“Investing in a low-cost hotel like Travelodge is an increasingly attractive choice, as it draws visitors, creates jobs and helps boost the local economy.

“Research shows on average our customers spend double their room rate with local businesses which annually results in a multimillion boost for the local economy.”

Locations under consideration:

1.     Aberystwyth

2.     Bognor Regis

3.     Bournemouth

4.     Bude

5.     Canterbury / Whistable

6.     Deal / Sandwich

7.     Eastbourne

8.     Falmouth

9.     Folkestone

10.   Guernsey

11.   Hove

12.   Jersey

13.   Lerwick

14.   Looe / Fowey

15.   Lowestoft

16.   Newquay

17.   Oban

18.   Penarth

19.   Penzance

20.   Pwllheli

21.   Shoreham-by-Sea

22.   St Ives

23.   Tenby

24.   Truro

25.   Western Super Mare

26.   Weymouth