Nine new routes are to be introduced by Ryanair from London-area airports for winter 2017-18.

The new services will run from Stansted to Aalborg in Denmark, Oradea in Romania and Pardubice in the Czech Republic.

Summer routes to be extended over the winter cover Cagliari, Copenhagen, Naples, Nice, Oslo and Ponta Delgada.

Capacity is also being raised on 13 existing routes from Stansted as the airline schedules a network covering 124 destinations from the Essex airport with passenger numbers projected to rise by 4% to 20.5 million a year.

Fifteen routes will be served from Luton airport including the winter sun destinations of Fuertaventura, Lanzarote, Malta and Tenerife.

Ryanair will continue to serve Belfast, Dublin, Cork, Shannon and Alicante from Gatwick.

Chief marketing officer, Kenny Jacobs, said that the winter schedule from the three airports will deliver 23.8 million passengers.